Louisville, KY, October 29, 2015 — With the crack of a hammer on a barrel top and a splash of golden amber “bourbon” hitting the ground, a new exhibit entitled Spirits of the Bluegrass: Prohibition and Kentucky opened shortly after 10am today at the Frazier History Museum.
Instead of cutting the traditional ribbon, Frazier President & CEO Penny Peavler officially opened the exhibition by breaking open the top of a bourbon barrel and pouring its contents onto the sidewalk such as was done more than nine decades ago. Brown-Forman Master Distiller Chris Morris and Louisville Metro Council President David Tandy helped in the handling of the barrel for the pour.
With two full sized bars, an event ready Speakeasy with a lighted stage, and flapper dresses around every corner, Spirits of the Bluegrass stands ready for a party. In 1920, you needed a doctor’s prescription or a Speakeasy password to get your lips on some liquor. Today, both the great stories, and the spirits, are much easier to come by. The Kentucky Distillers’ Association (KDA) is the title sponsor for the exhibition, scheduled to run through 2016.
Just last April, the Frazier announced it will explore and develop a new and expanded Bourbon experience that will include a visitor center and, in partnership with KDA, will serve as an Official Gateway to the Kentucky Bourbon Trail® and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail Craft Tour. A completion date has not yet been announced.
Prohibition and Kentucky traces the rise of the temperance movement from 1920 through the repeal of the 18th Amendment in 1933, taking an in-depth look at America’s “Noble Experiment.” By examining the Volstead Act and its effect on crime, politics, and culture, Spirits of the Bluegrass brings prohibition to life. It shows how millions of otherwise law-abiding Americans chose to violate the national alcohol ban and details the vast, often violent, criminal industry that quickly sprang up to quench the country’s thirst for illegal booze.
The Frazier History Museum is located at 829 West Main Street on Louisville’s downtown “Museum Row.” The Frazier is open Monday-Saturday 9:00am to 5:00pm and Sunday, noon to 5:00pm. For more information call (502) 753-5663 or visit fraziermuseum.org.
# # #
CONTACT: Andy Treinenfirstname.lastname@example.org
Director of Marketing